• HOME
  • >
  • Japan’s Regional Charm

Surrounded by the Sea of Okhotsk, the Sea of Japan, and the Pacific Ocean, Japan's northernmost island of Hokkaido is a vast land that comprises about 20% of the country's surface area.Magnificent natural scenery and natural parks abound...


The Tohoku Region is located in the northeast part of Honshu, the main island of Japan. It comprises the six prefectures Aomori Prefecture, Iwate Prefecture, Miyagi Prefecture, Akita Prefecture, Yamagata Prefecture, and Fukushima Prefecture, which collectively...


The Kanto Region is located in the eastern part of Honshu, the main island of Japan. It comprises the Tokyo Metropolis and the six prefectures Ibaraki Prefecture, Tochigi Prefecture, Gunma Prefecture, Saitama Prefecture, Chiba Prefecture,...


Located on Japan's Kanto plain and facing Tokyo Bay, the metropolis of Tokyo comprises the 23 Special-ward Area, the Tama Area, and islands including the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands. Tokyo is the capital of Japan and is home to over 13 million residents,...


The Chubu Region is the name given to the central area of Honshu, located in the middle of the Japanese archipelago. It comprises the nine prefectures Niigata Prefecture, Toyama Prefecture, Ishikawa Prefecture, Fukui Prefecture, Yamanashi Prefecture,...


Located in the central western area of Honshu, the Kansai Region comprises the five prefectures Hyogo Prefecture, Nara Prefecture, Mie Prefecture, Shiga Prefecture, and Wakayama Prefecture, as well as the urban prefectures Osaka Prefecture and Kyoto Prefecture...


Kyoto marked the home of the capital of Japan for a span of about 1,100 years, from 794 to the middle of the 19th century. Temples and shrines built during that period still stand in the city, which counts Kiyomizudera Temple and Nijo Castle among its 17 UNESCO...


The Chugoku Region, located in the western part of Honshu, comprises the five prefectures Tottori Prefecture, Shimane Prefecture, Okayama Prefecture, Hiroshima Prefecture, and Yamaguchi Prefecture. The region is home to many well-known...


Along with Hokkaido, Honshu, and Kyushu, Shikoku is one of the four main islands that make up the Japanese archipelago. The smallest of those islands, it comprises the four prefectures Tokushima Prefecture, Kagawa Prefecture, Ehime Prefecture, and Kochi Prefecture...


Kyushu is one of the four main islands that makes up Japan, along with Hokkaido, Honshu, and Shikoku, and is the third largest of them. It is comprised of Fukuoka prefecture, Saga prefecture, Nagasaki prefecture, Kumamoto prefecture, Oita prefecture,...


With the Nansei Islands as its southernmost tip, Okinawa Prefecture is located between Taiwan and Kyushu, the southwestern-most of Japan's four main islands. Okinawa comprises 160 islands of varied sizes that dot a vast area of ocean, and enjoys warm...

Japan’s Regional Charm

The Japanese archipelago extends approximately 1,860 miles or 3,000 km from the northern tip of Hokkaido to the southernmost Okinawa, giving the country a wide range of climates, from the subarctic to the tropical. The rich combination of varieties of climates and terrains has nurtured diverse natural spender in each region.

This diversity has also given rise to unique histories, traditions and cultures that are deeply rooted in each region. In recent years, these distinctive regional features have also gained recognition abroad, attracting foreign visitors. Furthermore, overseas investors are eyeing on the competitive edge and business advantages that each region has fostered.

This site showcases the various wonders of Japan’s regions through articles and videos. We hope you will find one that catches your eye!

Related Contents

Regional Strength from
“We Are Tomodachi”

“We Are Tomodachi” is an official online magazine that introduces Japan’s attractions and its deep and multifaceted ties with the rest of the world to our country’s friends (tomodachi) across the globe. Read various articles from the "Regional Strength" series.